CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR BLASTER

SURFACE BLASTER:

- Minimum 1 year blasting duties under direct supervision of a certified blaster
- Proper completion of Board of Mineral Mining Examiners Application Form (BMME-1)
- Proper completion of Board of Mineral Mining Examiners Work Experience Form (BMME-2)
- Submit copy of current MSHA 5000-23, showing First Aid review or copy of a first aid card or higher
- Submit \$10 examination fee with BMME-1 and BMME-2 at least **five working days** before exam, in the form of a check or money order, payable to the Treasurer of Virginia
- Pass the BMME Surface Blaster exam, scoring at least 80% on each of 5 parts

CERTIFICATON EXAM PARTS:

- Part 1 Blaster Duties, Responsibilities, and Hazard Recognition (20 questions)
- Part 2 Basic Knowledge of Blasting (20 questions)
- Part 3 Blasting Design and Control (20 questions)
- Part 4 Blast Effects (20 questions)
- Part 5 Virginia Law & Regulations Applicable to Blasting (20 questions)

UNDERGROUND BLASTER:

- Minimum of 2 years underground mineral mining employment, with at least 1 year blasting duties
- Pass the BMME Underground Blaster exam, scoring at least 80% on each of 4 parts
- All other criteria listed under Surface Blaster (above) applies

CERTIFICATION EXAM PARTS:

- Part 1 Blaster Duties, Responsibilities & Hazard Recognition (20 questions)
- Part 2 Basic Knowledge of Blasting (20 questions)
- Part 3 Blasting Design and Control (20 questions)
- Part 4 Blast Effects (20 questions)
- Part 5 Virginia Law & Regulations Applicable to Blasting (20 questions)

ALL APPLICANTS WILL BE NOTIFIED BY MAIL OF THE EXAM RESULTS WITHIN 2 WEEKS